‘More Winter than Spring’ by Phil Yeats

On his website, Phil Yeats generates stories from prompts. A recent post started like this:

Welcome to the Spot Writers. This month’s prompt is to write a story that features a springtime ritual. Phil Yeats wrote this week’s story.

In September, 2021, he published The Souring Seas, the first volume in a precautionary tale about the hazards of ignoring human-induced climate change. The second volume, Building Houses of Cards, appeared in May 2022. He’s now published They All Come Tumbling Down, the third volume in his The Road to Environmental Armageddon trilogy. For information about these books, or his older soft-boiled mysteries, visit his website: https://alankemisterauthor.wordpress.com/

More Winter than Spring

by Phil Yeats

On the first Saturday in March, I put on my winter boots, my winter coat, my toque, and worn winter gloves that had been delegated to snow shovelling activities. I grabbed my snow shovel and my lawn rake from our mudroom and turned toward the outside door. A blast of cold winter air greeted me when I opened it.

“Seems a bit early for springtime activities,” Susan, my long-suffering wife, said as she retreated to the warmth of the kitchen.

To continue reading, visit Phil’s blog post at: ‘More Winter than Spring’ by Phil Yeats.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.